Runnels | Independent School, Baton Rouge
Menu
In compliance with Gov. John Bel Edwards' directive to close K-12 schools in an effort to halt the spread of coronavirus, Runnels will be closed Monday, March 16 through April 30. Parents and students, please continue to check your email for more information and updates.

Baseball

Ben YoungVarsity Baseball Coach
b.young@runnels.org

Born and raised in Baton Rouge, Coach Young is a 2006 graduate of Runnels High School. While at Runnels, he played varsity baseball and basketball, earning All-State and All-Metro awards in both sports. He went on to play college baseball and received a bachelor’s degree in math from Bryan College in Tennessee. Coach Young now teaches Algebra II at Runnels High School while serving as head coach for the varsity basketball and baseball teams. 

Coach Young is a Runnels Raider through and through! His mom taught first grade at Runnels for years. Both of his sisters are Runnels alums, with one teaching art in our kindergarten, and his daughter and nieces are continuing the family legacy by attending Runnels.

  • 7-2A District Champions   / 2015
  • State Quarter-finalist   / 2015
  • …3 straight years making the state playoffs
  • 7-2A Coach of the Year  / 2015

Varsity Athletics Calendar

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Thursday, April 2, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020